Skip to main content


A Brief History of TREA


Established:  November 1992
The first organizational meeting of TREA was conducted in Mt. Pleasant at the Hot Biscuit Restaurant (Holiday Inn) at 6:30pm on November 23, 1992.  Dr. L.C. Stout, Superintendent of Fannindel ISD was selected to lead TREA as president.

It was also decided that TREA would apply to the National Rural Education Association (NREA) to be the official state affiliate from Texas.

            Charter membership – 39 total charter members

                        Officers –        Dr. L.C. Stout                         President

                                                Prairiland ISD


                                                Dr. Richard Hervey                President-Elect

                                                Red Lick ISD


                                                Dr. James Hesson                    Treasurer

                                                Roxton ISD


                                                Dr. John Moss                         Secretary

                                                East Texas State University-Texarkana


                                                Scott Ferguson                        Advisor

                                                Region VIII ESC


                                                George Brown                        Advisor

                                                Region VIII ESC


Districts -    Saltillo ISD                 Roxton ISD                 Leary ISD

                        Winfield ISD              Red Lick ISD             Talco-Bogata CISD

                        Harts Bluff ISD          Avery ISD                  Chapel Hill ISD

                        McLeod ISD               Hubbard ISD              Prairiland ISD

                        Fannindel ISD            Hughes Springs ISD   Pewitt CISD

                        Sulphur Bluff  ISD       Yantis  ISD                 Avinger ISD

                        Como-Pickton CISD   Cooper ISD                Beckville ISD

                        Region VIII ESC

                        East Texas State University-Texarkana

                        Texas Education Agency


TREA was awarded state affiliate status from NREA in January 1993.
NREA has provided an excellent opportunity for TREA to be involved as an advocate for rural issues on a national level.  Since joining, TREA has been active and highly involved in the direction of NREA.  This is evidenced, in part, by hosting the 1996 NREA annual conference (San Antonio) and by providing a past president:  George Brown, 2000-01 and a future president, Seth Adams 2007-08.

TREA has grown steadily since 1992 and has become a recognized leader and strong advocate for small/rural school issues on a national, state and local level. 

This growth has occurred through strong leadership from TREA’s current and past presidents:  L.C. Stout, Jim Hesson, Tommy Long, Franklin Wray, Ronnie Stanley, Graham Sweeney, Seth Adams, James Morton, Mark Keahey and Todd Williams (President-Elect).

National Rural Education Association


Contact Information

TREA - Texas Rural Education Association
108 Wild Basin Rd. South
Suite 100
Austin, Texas 78746
Phone: (254) 602-2056
Fax: (512) 494-1188